“….because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.” The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children. Now if we are children, then we are heirs – heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ….” Romans 8

I’ve been thinking about adoption a lot lately. Maybe it’s because we just had the 5-year anniversary of when we got Mikayla two Sundays ago. But even before that it seemed to be on my mind a lot.

I’m not adopted. I am (sometimes unfortunately 😉 the biological daughter of my parents. But I do have adoptive families. Families who have taken me in and treated me as a daughter. When I think about this, two spring to mind. First were the Mayes. It started with me going to their house after Jodi and I had spanish every Wednesday. Pretty soon she, Jeri and I were as close as sisters. To this day, they are the only family I truly let get away with calling me “Lala”. 🙂 Next were the Baileys. Little did I know when I was put in their small group where that relationship would go! They’ve taken me on trips, entrusted me with their children and even offered to let me live with them when my parents thought we were moving. Vicki became my unofficial mentor and if anything had happened to my dad before I got married, Brian would have walked me down the aisle. Then I went off to school. I grew up and these relationships changed. We’re still close and I still know I’m always welcome at both homes.  I am so grateful for these families. They’ve loved me, corrected me, encouraged me, and let me be a part of their lives.

What then, must it be like to know that you were chosen? It’s one thing to be in the family you were born into. But to know that someone chose you? Especially when you did nothing to deserve it. Mikayla couldn’t have done anything to earn our love. She wasn’t even on the same continent yet. But from the moment we received her picture and her name, we fell in love with her. I want her to be proud of her heritage. I hope we’re able to take her back to China one day and show her where she’s from. But I also want her to know that she is as much a part of this family as any of us. No matter what. That we chose her. That we loved her before she could even earn it. As if she would have had to. I’m hoping that she will better understand what it means for us to be adopted children of God. We didn’t earn it. We even threw it back in His face. But He still loved us and He still chose us.

I borrowed an idea from my friend Kels and wrote something for Mikayla. I want to print it out and frame it for her birthday. It’s entitled ‘Because She’s My Sister’.

She is five…..I am twenty.
But she’s my sister.

Her skin is caramel….My skin is white.
But she’s my sister.

Her eyes are brown….My eyes are blue.
But she’s my sister.

She wears princess pjs….I wear a tank top and shorts.
But she’s my sister.

She cries at the Easter Bunny….I don’t cry for anything.
But she’s my sister.

She likes Disney music…..I like Lauryn Hill.
But she’s my sister.

She wants to play with Barbies….I play with her.
Because she’s my sister.

She wants to read “just one book”…..I read it to her.
Because she’s my sister.

She wants to dance…..I dance with her.
Because she’s my sister.

She wants me to sit by her…..I sit by her.
Because she’s my sister.

She tells me she loves me……I tell her I love her too.
Because she’s my sister.

Blessing and courage to you!

