“I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” Matthew 18:3-4

“Wonder. Curiosity. Abandon. Playfulness. Listening. Passion. Celebration. Imagination. Spontaneity. Openness. Creativity. Children hold so little regard for status, title, or position and have so little of the things that consume the lives of adults, and yet they are filled with such joy.” A value of The Dwelling Place

I tend to be very child-like. (Childish too, at times. But that’s another topic. :-)) While the excitement of presents at Christmas has worn off, I still love the holiday. (More for what it stands for than anything else.) I still love playing in the rain and hide n’ seek and pillow fights and climbing trees. For me, this is one area of the Christian life that I don’t normally have to work too hard at. Which is a relief, because I have plenty of other areas that I have to constantly work on. But this is one that seems to be pretty natural.

For example, a couple of weeks ago I was in the kitchen getting water. There’s a window over our sink that looks out into the backyard and you can see the garden. I was looking at the wildflowers my mom planted when I noticed something. There was an itty-bitty bird flying among them. I realized that it was a humming bird. I ran into the living room to get Mikayla and show her. I was so excited. I had never seen one before, outside of books and Pocahontas. (Which, ironically, is what Mikayla was watching when I grabbed her. So I was able to say, “Look, it’s Flit!” :-)) I think was more excited about it than Mikayla. She was kinda like, “Yeah, cool.” But maybe she’s seen one before. I hadn’t realized just how tiny those birds are. It was no bigger than the flowers.

I’m not always child-like. There are days, even weeks, when I allow myself to become hard and cynical. I wonder how much I miss on those days. What beauty God could have showed me if I wasn’t wrapped up in my little world of bitterness. Or the days where I’m just too busy to “stop and consider God’s wonders”. Sometimes it’s something like that that snaps me out of it though. Sometimes all it takes is a little humming bird, doing what God created it to do, to remind me, “You are not the center of the universe, Lauren Michelle.” So the next time you see a humming bird, take a minute to marvel at this tiny example of God’s awesome creation that He has made you a part of!

