I’m home from my first vacation! It was quite interesting. Our theme song the entire time was the theme from ‘Deliverance’. I’ve never seen the show or even really heard the song but we were all humming it often this week. It was a lot of fun though. Here’re some highlites.

*I got to see family members that I haven’t seen in three years.

*We played tennis, volleyball, badminton, cards and board games.

* I rode a bike for the first time in years! I’m thinking I need to buy another one.

*I had to stand in the Atlantic to get signal on my cell phone.

*The guys went to a driving range that pretty much prompted the ‘Deliverance’ joke.

*We went to Charleston for the day. That was probably the best part of the trip. We drove around for almost 30 minutes trying to get to the Starbucks. (One way streets aren’t helpful!)

*I threatened to kill Joshua with a toothpick when he started eating chips at 2:00 in the morning when we first arrived. πŸ˜€

*I slept in a closet. This is something of a tradition. Mom opened the door to make sure I was ok and I curled up in a ball and started going, “No wire hangers….”

*We went to the beach and played in the waves. I lost one of my favorite earrings, almost lost my bathingsuit and got cut on the ankle. It was a blast! πŸ™‚ I took Mikayla out for a little bit and one of the waves knocked me off my feet. I had told her not to let go of me for anything so I’m clinging to her with one arm and trying to swim with the other. When we finally got our heads above water again, another wave hit and off we went again. Mikayla thought it was hysterical. I was just tired. πŸ™‚

*The Sugar Shack lady prompted Uncle Kerry to tell us kids to “stay in school”.

*We played ‘Cranium’ one night. It was Kelly, Grandma, Kerry and me against Mom, Joshua, Karen and Larry. To sum it up, Larry answered twice for our team, Kelly didn’t know what a missionary was, Kerry had to act out Ava Gabore (Green Acres) and Joshua didn’t know how to draw a belly dancer.

*I bought a new watch for $10. (Which is good b/c I think Reegan was going to be the death of my other one.)

*My family stayed in a scary motel on the way home and had an interesting breakfast at Shoney’s.

So, yeah, that’s obviously not the most complete picture but I doubt any of you really care about the particulars of the trip. I usually skim stuff like that anyway. πŸ™‚ But those are the highlites! Now tell me what’s been going on while I was gone!

