So I went to cantata. Twice. It was soooo good. But there was one thing that bugged me. During one of the testimonies, this couple was talking about how their family had been saved from a fire and at the end, the wife said something along the lines of, “This is just another example of God taking care of those He loves.”

Okay.

I know, I know. It’s just one of those things that we’ve been taught and it sounds all good and Christiany and she didn’t mean it the way my mind processed it. However, my first thought when she said it was “As opposed to all the people He doesn’t love?” I know why we as Christians say it. Because it makes us feel safe and like God is watching over us and is going to protect us. But what must that sound like to the person that God didn’t “protect”? What does that sound like to the person who *did* lose a child to a fire? What does that sound like to the person who’s wife left them and now feels as though their life has been blown to crap? What does that sound like to the person who was sexually abused or raped or who’s husband beat them? It sounds like God doesn’t love them. “Well, He didn’t protect me in that situation and He let this and this happen, so He must not love me. Or just not as much as He loves this person over here.”

It also makes it sound like God is playing favorites or that there are people in the world that He doesn’t love. Whether we like it or not, we are *all* created in His image. It’s just that some of us choose to ackowledge that fact. It’s like a parent who has a bunch of kids and some of them want nothing to do with their parent. Does that mean the parent loves them any less than the other kids? Or doesn’t love them at all? No.

As Christians, we really have to be careful with what we say. Because things that sound good to us and make sense to us don’t always make sense to those who haven’t been in church. All of the people who’ve been in church awhile knew what that lady meant. But if there had been someone there who had lost a child in a fire and didn’t have the church lingo down (or is like me and thinks too much), that could have been very damaging to their spiritual journey.

I personally am trying to work on getting Christian-ese out of my vocabulary. It’s not easy but the last thing I want is to hurt someone by using some cliche “in-group” phrase.

