Have I mentioned that?

So today I overslept and didn’t wake up until a little before 8:00. I’m supposed to be at work at 7:30. I jumped up, called Valorie, told her I was on my way and took off. It took me almost 45 minutes to get there. (Stupid traffic! I was actually swearing at other drivers, I was so stressed out.)

I don’t know what the deal with my alarm clock on my phone is. This has happened a handful of times before and each time I wake up, the alarm is acting like it’s going off but there is no sound. I have no idea what is going on. Maybe it does make noise but I sleep through it and it’s so long before I wake up, the sound stops. I don’t know. And the thing is, I *knew* it was going to happen. Last night I thought to myself “Do something to insure that you will be up on time” but nooooo! I’m sure 5 1/2 hours of sleep in 48 contributed to my not waking up, whatever the cause.

If this were any other job, my butt would be so fired by now. Thank you Lord the people I work for are about the most understanding people ever! I always feel soooo bad and Valorie’s always like “It’s okay. It happens.”

Another reason it rocks? I don’t actually have to think. If I’m having a day like I did today where I just had too much going on in my head and I’m trying to process stuff, it doesn’t matter. I’m not messing up orders or screwing up cases because I can’t concentrate. I’ll play with Reegan and talk to her but if I get distracted and head off for la la land mentally, it’s not a big deal. (Obviously I don’t do this to the point of endangering her or myself but it’s nice not to be yelled at because you aren’t completely there one day.)

Also, when I’m trying to think about stuff, I tend to need to stay busy and I usually prefer to clean. It’s routine enough that I don’t have to think about it but it gives me something to do with my hands. So today while Reegan was eating breakfast, I washed dishes and cleaned up the kitchen some. Not anything huge but it gave me something to do.

So yeah, this job is perfect for me right now. Working at a private investigator place would have been cool but I doubt I could get away with random cleaning and not being all there and sleeping through my alarm clock.

Oh, quick note: prayers would be appreciated because they are trying to move. Brant wants to make an offer on a house but they haven’t sold theirs yet so there’s a possibility of two mortgages. I would *love* it if they moved because they’d be closer to me but I know they’d feel better if their house sold beforehand. If any of you are looking to move to Fishers, please let me know. 🙂 Thanks guys!

