I’m thankful for my family. Even when they are driving me up a wall and we’re in a two hour long argument about politics, I’m still thankful for them. Deep down, I know that they still love me, even if they think I’m becoming a bleeding heart liberal. 🙂

I’m thankful for my friends. My second family. My brothers and sisters that have no blood ties but are closer to me than most of my real family.

I’m thankful for my church. On Sunday, Shane asked us to give two things that we were grateful for. I said I was grateful for the Dwelling Place. The people there helped me heal and gave me love and acceptance. They restored my faith in God and (I didn’t say this part) in humanity.

I’m thankful for my job. They are so good to me and I love Reegan so much. Even when she’s pitching a fit. 🙂

I’m thankful for all of the children in my life. They remind me that it’s okay to be loud and it’s okay to be joyful and it’s okay to have fun.

I’m thankful for pastors who let me talk with them about everything and nothing and still manage to make me think, no matter the topic.

I’m thankful for INtake stretching me and making me take somewhat of an interest in politics. 🙂

I’m thankful for dancing.

I’m thankful for forgiveness. For myself but also for those who have hurt me. Forgiveness can be very, very hard and I’m thankful that I have been able to forgive the person who has hurt me most. I’m thankful that (I hate this cliche but….) I’ve been able to “let go and let God”.

I’m thankful for books and that I can enjoy them. It’s blessing and a curse.

I’m thankful for school. I’m thankful that I finally found a school that I’m not miserable at and a major that I’m actually enjoying.

I’m thankful for music.

I’m thankful for people who try to make the world a better place instead of contributing to it’s decline. I’m thankful for people who care about the poor and people who are dying of AIDS and who don’t have clean drinking water. I’m thankful for people who stand up for the weak and protect the helpless. I’m thankful for people who want to be more like Jesus, even when they don’t realize that that is Who they are imitating.

I’m thankful for the people who irritate me. (Which is most of you. 😉 ) Every time they get on my nerves or make it hard to love them, I know that it is further shaping me into who I want to be. Jesus never said that loving people was easy so I’m thankful for the people who remind me of that. Even when I want to choke them. 🙂

I’m thankful for slow drivers and people who refuse to be rushed. They remind me that it’s okay to slow down and enjoy life.

I’m thankful for chocolate. No, seriously. 😀

I’m thankful for my journey thus far. It’s been an interesting one but I don’t think I would change any of it. Every bad thing that has happened has helped shape me into who I am today and who I want to become. So I’m thankful for the journey, for the questions, for the tears, and for the fact that He never walked away from me.

And if you’re reading this, I’m probably thankful for you too. 🙂

Blessings and courage, strength and honor!

