How do you love someone you don’t trust? What does that look like? 1 Corinthians says that Love always trusts. What does that mean? Does it mean you trust the person who has hurt you in the past not to do it again? Do you trust that they one day might be better? How do you not let the distrust jade you and make you stop loving them? Esp. when they keep doing the same thing over and over again. They might apologize but there is never any real change. The apology comes because they don’t want you mad at them. Or maybe in that moment they are truly sorry but not enough to change so that they don’t hurt you in that way again. Is that really love? I know Jesus loved the people who killed Him but did He trust them? Did he trust Judas? I guess not, because He knew Judas would betray Him. So do I go through life expecting to be betrayed? Is upsetting my emotional stability really worth it? I know life isn’t going to be easy but does it have to feel like a constant uphill battle?

*sigh*

Argument I had with God in the car on the way home:

Me: “Why do you love idiots? Why do you say I have to love them? I’m sick of people and their crap! I’m sick of people who are self-righteous and think they know it all! I’m sick of constantly defending my beliefs! Why?!”

God: “You’re an idiot and I love you. I love you and your crap. I love you even when you’re being self-righteous and you think you know it all. Because I love you, damn it.” (Oddly, God had Rich’s voice there. šŸ˜‰ )

Me: *pause* “That all ya got?”

God: “Yup.”

Me: “Fine. But I’m blogging this when I get home.”

