I’m not sure why I have felt no urge to blog recently. It’s not like last time when I realized I was “afraid” of the comments I would have to deal with. I just haven’t felt inspired. Of course, part of that could be due to the fact I just went to church on Sunday for the first time in a month. (Boy, was Shane right. I could tell I hadn’t been in awhile. I was out of my “rhythm”. It was good to be back though.) And I haven’t really had time for reading outside of school work. Being a full-time student can really suck the joy of reading out of you.

I’ve just felt tired recently. I know part of it is the weather. I like snow but I HATE winter. If winter was only a month or two, I could handle it. But 4 to 6 months of freezing cold and ice and no sun is my personal hell.  Winter drains me. And school has been a little rough this go around. I got sick for 2-3 weeks and it really effected my schoolwork. I’m used to being Miss Straight-A so failing two tests was quite the blow to my ego. Ah, lessons in humility.  But I’m planning on actually taking this summer off. I feel myself getting overwhelmed and stressed so I know that I need a break. I’ve been helping my mom with her pet-sitting business so we’ll probably put up some more fliers and get some more business flowing. I had been planning on plowing on through and taking classes through the summer but I need a break. As much as I want to be done faster, I’m going to try to listen to my own common sense. A degree doesn’t do me any good if I’m in a mental hospital.

Other than school and pets, I’ve been cleaning houses and doing a *little* baby-sitting. The good thing that came out of my job at the Hebrew school is I have 3 families that call me to baby-sit while they go out at night. Usually the kids are asleep when I get there and if they aren’t, they’re only up for about an hour. Now that kind of baby-sitting, I can handle. I’ve noticed my tolerance for children has lowered considerably. The other day I was in a store and some kid was screaming. Normally I’m the person giving the parent a sympathetic “I know how you feel” look. Instead I found myself fantasizing about someone building stores where only adults were allowed. (No, not x-rated crap.) I’m talking someone makes a Target or a Kohl’s or whatever where you have to be 12 and up to go in. I was listening to the radio a few weeks ago and there was an ad for a resort that had beaches that were specifically for adults. If you didn’t want to listen to some kid screaming and crying because it’s past his nap time, you didn’t have to. I thought that sounded so nice. Long gone are the days when I was thrilled that it was my Sunday to work the nursery.

I guess that’s it for now. It’s getting late.

