In him I found the person whom I knew I would never get tired of, even in the most monotonous of times, even in the routine of being together every single day. I never thought I would find that.

If you haven’t already, you will, too.

I’m glad you did, Dooce, but tell me one I haven’t heard. Thankfully, I didn’t have to hear it at the wedding this weekend. Because after the stress-filled, sanity-losing, please-don’t-let-me-jump-off-this-pretty-pretty-cliff week I had last week, I don’t think I could have handled it. The look of pity and disappointment that I am 23 years old and *GASP* not anywhere near being married! Scads of horror!

I haven’t told Grandma S. that I don’t see myself as married because I really don’t want to be responsible for giving her a heart attack. (The skinny dipping incident was close enough.) Finding a man that I wouldn’t kill and who wouldn’t kill me (because, contrary to popular belief, I am not a bowl of joy and sunshine 24/7) and who I could live with in the monotonous day to day just seems like a huge production. I am thrilled for people who do find it. It makes me happy to see women like Dooce content in their marriages. Women and their husbands who are not trying to make each other’s lives miserable. Because I have witnessed *plenty* of the other. (Hello, therapy…..)

As I told the Best. Boyfriend. Ever. recently, I would much rather be single and occasionally wishing I was married than married and always wishing I was single. But I will always raise my glass to and commend women and men who, despite any insanity or baggage they bring to the table, are able to make it work.

Here’s to you, Dooce! May your marriage and family be abundantly blessed!

