So today was fairly crappy. It seemed like more customers than usual were snippy and irritable. Which makes the person they were short with snippy and irritable. Ya know, that whole chaos theory/ripple effect thing. Even our GM, who is usually in a good mood and very upbeat and happy said people were getting on their nerves. Maybe something was in the water. At any rate, I was more than ready to leave.

When these days happen, I try not to let it get to me but I don’t always succeed. I try not to let it seep out into my relationships with other people but sometimes it does. And I hate that because it’s not that persons fault that someone else was an asshole to me. And it’s not my fault that someone was probably an asshole to that person. But we let these things effect us and infect other people like the flu.

But you know what? All things considered, my day wasn’t that bad. Sure, some people were short with me. Sure, my feet were aching and my shoulder hurt. Sure, I had to stop and pay over $50 to fill my car with gas. But that same car got me to and from work without mishap. I was able to stand all day with, really, minor pain. I had food to eat and a house to come home to. I am sitting here in front of a laptop with internet, drinking fresh water, with a fan blowing on me. I have a family and friends who love me. I have a church community that loves me and cares when I’m not there. A church community that doesn’t have to meet in secret. I didn’t have bombs falling around me or soldiers invading my town. I don’t have to worry about my dad and brother being dragged off to war. Was my day great? No. Was it good? Not really. But at the same time, yes. Every day is a day that the Lord has made. I’m not in control of it. Those crabby customers aren’t in control of it. The most I can do is live moment to moment and remember Who made me. Who made those customers.

And then I pray to Him that those customers be saved and blessed. In that order. 🙂

Our Father in Heaven, hallowed be Your name. Your kingdom come, You will be done on Earth as it is in Heaven. Give us today our daily bread. Forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one. For Yours is the kingdom and the glory and the power forever. Amen.

