I have noticed a trend in guys that really drives me (and most other women I know) insane. If they like a girl and she isn’t paying attention to them (or worse, she’s paying attention to another guy), they will start acting crazy in an attempt to get her attention. They’ve done it to me, they’ve done it to my friends, I’ve even caught guys in groups of strangers doing it.

Guys, I don’t know why you think this is a good idea. Unless the girl is easily amused (and I’m talking she still thinks that you sticking straws up your nose is hilarious), you are only going to succeed in annoying her. I’m pretty sure this is the opposite of what you are trying to accomplish. It is the equivelent of pulling our hair or tripping us on the playground. We don’t find it funny and it makes us want to ignore you even more.

If you feel ignored by us, try talking to us about it. If you like us, just be up front and tell us. Yes, I realize that you are risking your pride and the fact that the girl may reject you. But I promise that if she has any sense, she will respect you more for just being honest and putting it out there. I know that for me personally, if you are annoying me, I’m not going to want to spend time with you. If you like me and I don’t like you back, I can deal with that. I’m not going to act weird about it once you’ve told me and I’m not going to stop being your friend. (As long as you understand that “no” really does mean “no” and don’t continue to ask me out and pester me. Then we’re back to the “You’re annoying me” stage.)

Acting crazy gets you attention but it’s not the kind of attention you want. Though I suppose if we had to choose between you annoying us or going all Othello on us, most girls would prefer to be annoyed.

***********

Yes, I realize that girls can pull this crap too. Or worse, we try to make the other girl that you’re tallking to/interested in look bad. But because I’m a girl, I witness more of the guy tatics because more of them are aimed at me. I’m not saying that women don’t subscribe to this brand of crazy. (Because, really, who does crazy better than women?) We just seem to have less of a propensity towards it.

