Day 5 - 9/19/10

Since this was what I wore for a Sunday morning that I was potentially going to have to help with the kids at church, I wanted to make sure my clothes were fairly kid friendly. It’s been awhile since I’ve been in a classroom setting with munchkins but the 10+ years that I have spent in childcare haven’t completely left me.

At our second church we rotate by house church for who “hosts” each Sunday. Hosting involves folding bulletins, buying and preparing communion, greeting as people come in, and helping with the kids. I had been putting that last part off for as long as I possibly could.

It’s not that I don’t like kids. But those 10+ years I mentioned before have *really* burned me out on them. Baby-sitting, nannying, Tuesday morning Bible study baby-sitting, choir baby-sitting, Mom’s Day Out and Mothers of Preschoolers baby-sitting, teaching 2-3 year olds for Wisdom Builders, working as a teacher at a Hebrew school, and on and on and on. I still like kids. I find them hilarious half the time. I simply have no desire to be the one in charge of them right now.

Fortunately, helping out in Sunday school went better than I thought. There was a head teacher who had everything planned out and kept the kids entertained and moving the entire time.  And since there are a number of house churches at Trinity, I’ll only have to do it every few months. Now *that* is a reason to praise the Lord! 😉

Shirt: Target

Jeans: TJ Maxx

Shoes: Sears

Cardigan: Forever 21

Necklace: The gold chain is from my MIL and the sea shell is from Hannah.

Earrings: A gift from my dad. (A non-dangley, barely grabbable gift perfect for wearing around kids.)

